National, State APC Excos’ Tenure Extended For One Year

TENURE Extention has been approved by the All Progressive Congress (APC) for its current National Working Committee (NWC) and state executive committees for one year with effect from June this year.

This was carried out by the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the party on Tuesday (27/02/2018).

Emerging from the party’s NEC meeting which held in Abuja, Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, disclosed this to news men.

Yahaya Bello

With Bello were National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi and the party’s chairmen in Plateau, Rivers, Anambra, Ondo and Nasarawa states.

He said the decision was taken in line with Article 13 of the party, which allows the NEC to exercise the powers of the National Convention.

“At the end of the National Executive Council meeting today, a major decision was taken in line with the constitution of our party. We are all aware that the tenure of the current NWC and the executive members of this party – both elected and appointed – comes to an end in June this year.

“Considering the time left for the party to conduct all the congresses and convention and considering that our leader, Senator Tinubu, has been charged with the responsibility of reconciling all aggrieved members of our party, we cannot afford to approach the general elections with more dispute and crises.

“So, relying on Article 13 of our constitution, which empowers the NEC to carry out the function of the convention, the NEC has decided to extend the tenure of the current NWC and other executive committees at various levels for another twelve months, starting from June 30th.

“Let me tell you that this will not stop the convention of the party. But to go into elective Congresses is what we are trying to avoid relying on the constitution of our party. As a matter of fact, Mr. President believes in ensuring that there are Congresses and convention across board.

“However, how would you manage the crisis that will arise thereabout? Let me give you instances, in Ekiti and Osun states, there state congresses were postponed similarly in 2014 ahead of the elections. Just two states to avoid crisis talk more of the whole country. So, that is why this decision was taken,” Bello said.

The meeting started when President Muhammadu Buhari arrived at the APC headquarters, accompanied by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

Those who attended the meeting included: Governors Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (Sokoto), Sani Bello (Niger), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Nasir El Rufai (Kaduna), Abubakar Ibrahim (Bauchi), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Akinwumi Ambode (Lagos) Samuel Ortom (Benue), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo).

Others are: Senate Leader Ahmed Lawal, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Ibe Kachukwu, Deputy Speaker Yusuf Lasun, Deputy Senate Whip Francis Alimikhena, Senator Magnus Abe, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, Senator Andy Uba, Senator Sani Yarima, House Leader Femi Gbajabiamila, House Whip Ado Dogowa, state chairmen among others.

Senate President Bukola Saraki and Speaker of the House of Representatives Yakubu Dogara as well as a few governors were absent.